Winners of the Tokyo Anime Award 2011

(Last Updated On: March 5, 2011)

According to the official website, Tokyo Anime Fair (TAF) executive committee has announced the winners of the Tokyo Anime Award2011. The award ceremony will be held on March 26th at TAF 2011.


Animation of the Year
Karigurashi no Arrietty
Best TV Anime
Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei
Best Domestic Film
Karigurashi no Arrietty
Best Foreign Film
Toy Story 3
Best OVA
Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn
Best Director
Yonebayashi Hiromasa ("Karigurashi no Arrietty")
Best Writer
Maruo Miho ("Colorful (Movie)")
Best Art Directors
Takeshige Yoji & Yoshida Noboru ("Karigurashi no Arrietty")
Best Character Designer
Umakoshi Yoshihiko ("Heartcatch Precure!")
Best Voice Actor
Toyosaki Aki ("K-ON!!")
Best Music
Cécile Corbel ("Karigurashi no Arrietty")

K-ON!!, Amagami SS, Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru, Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko and Yumekui Merry had once been listed in TBS’s exhibition entries at TAF 2011, but all of them removed on February 3rd. Amagami, SoreMachi, Denpa Onna are related to the Comic 10 Publishers’ Society, who boycott TAF. The final decision whether to exhibit manga or anime is left to the authors.

Ishiguro Masakazu, the manga author of SoreMachi, revealed that he had made a strong protest against the entry list and TBS immediately erased the name and the illustration of SoreMachi next day. Ishiguro said he opposed to Tokyo’s Anime & Manga Regulation Ordinance and resented the mistake of TBS.

Sources: TAF 2011 official website, Ishiguro’s web diary
Related topics: Mangaka Kawasaki Noboru Refuses Tokyo Anime Award


Credits to dtshyk.

Congratulations to all the winners! I’m glad Aki Toyosaki won as the best seiyuu.. 😀

Your thoughts?

%d bloggers like this: